top of page

我們的小學

歡迎

我很自豪能夠領導一個致力於實現高標準並為我們的學生提供最佳機會的團隊。在州長的支持下,工作人員努力提供豐富且具有挑戰性的課程,為孩子們未來的教育做好準備,並幫助他們獲得在餘生中追求學習所需的技能和熱情。

了解我們學校的最佳方式是前來參觀,看看我們在行動,並會見教職員工和孩子們。只需致電學校辦公室 0208 546 7179 即可安排此事。

 

我期待著歡迎您來到我們學校,並與我們所有的新孩子和家庭建立愉快而成功的伙伴關係。  

 

校長:露露·伊蘇亞夫人

ST_J_STILLS - 5.jpg

OFSTED November 23

The provision for SEND allows the pupils to fully participate in their learning, as we know and understand their needs.

我們的課程

在聖約翰學校,我們的課程採用主題方法。我們可以看到在不同學習領域之間建立聯繫對所有孩子的好處。您可以在此處閱讀有關我們學科和課程的所有信息。

我們也有幸與金斯頓大學有很好的課程聯繫,我們在那裡使用他們的科學實驗室;玫瑰劇院、斯坦利·皮克畫廊、博物館和圖書館、金斯頓學院和 TA 中心。

我們的結果

在聖約翰學院,我們的學生都是成功的學習者,並且實現了我們學校的願景; “我們的孩子是快樂、成功的學習者,他們喜歡學習、取得進步並充分發揮他們的潛力”。 我們希望每個人都是我們的學校蓬勃發展,並了解“生活的圓滿”(約翰福音 10:10)。

 

我們的學生在英語、寫作和數學方面達到了預期的綜合標準,並且在過去 3 年 KS2 結束時,他們一直保持在 80% 以上。這超過了國家平均標準 (65%) 和金頓地方當局的平均標準。  

 

我們的學生也始終超過取得最高成績的學生的國家標準。 我們的 KS1 數據在過去 3 年中一直高於全國平均水平。 Phonics Screening 測試結果近3年均符合或高於全國平均水平。前期良好 發展成果近3年均高於國家標準。

 

*由於大流行,沒有 2019-2020 和 2020-2021 學年的記錄數據。

家庭學習 

根據政府指導,聖約翰學院制定了混合和遠程學習應急計劃,以防我們的學生因必須自我隔離而需要訪問該計劃。您可以在此處閱讀我們向年級組傳達這一信息的方式,並找到指向孩子們在學校使用的有用網站的鏈接。

整個孩子

在聖約翰,我們相信在我們的孩子身上培養全面、知情和全球意識的態度。除了我們多樣化的課程外,我們還為孩子們開發了探索自己和周圍世界的活動,使他們能夠開始對自己在世界上的位置做出明智的決定。有機會探索信仰以及成為一個人的意義基督教。我們是一所生態學校,整個學校都參與並參與了孩子們的環保活動。我們繼續在我們的分配和溫室中提供健康飲食和種植食物的意識。我們宣傳成為英國人的意義,並探索成為全球公民的意義。我們確保孩子們了解他們的人權,並且剛剛獲得聯合國兒童基金會頒發的青銅級承諾,孩子們有機會參加學校理事會並做出影響整個學校的決定。

貓頭鷹和森林學校

我們為所有孩子創造了一個獨特的戶外學習環境。我們有一大片林地,可通往 Hogsmill 河,這是一個帶大溫室的種植園,孩子們在那裡學習如何用種子種植食物並在一年內照顧它,然後才能品嚐和嘗試新食物。創建一個安全的空間,我們稱之為 OWL(戶外野外學習),我們開發了一種教育方法,讓年輕人更多地接觸和了解自然世界,以及一個強大的過程,使年輕人的整體個人發展成為可能.我們所有的孩子都受益於這個空間的使用,尤其是那些有額外需求的孩子。你可以在這里關注我們的工作。 我們的森林學校被評為 2020 年度森林學校。

我們的生態學校和健康飲食獎

我們是一所獲得認可的生態學校,我們的生態使命是:通過我們的學習,我們相信與植物、動物和彼此一起關心、保護和分享我們的環境。我們積極鼓勵回收、再利用和限制使用能源和資源。

我們擁有全國健康學校地位綠旗生態獎,並且是綠色衛士的獲獎者。我們致力於在休息時間和午餐時間推廣和監測健康食品。為學生提供不同的教學風格和學習機會,以培養他們對更健康飲食和基本食品安全實踐的認識和理解,包括種植和烹飪蔬菜的機會。

運動的

我們與學校內的各種體育專家合作。本學年,我們有一位優秀的舞蹈教練與年級組一起工作。這位教練負責金斯頓和其他行政區的舞蹈培訓課程,同時也是一名舞蹈教練,為明星們準備了《Strictly Come Dancing》!

中學目的地

這些是我們的學生在過去兩年中轉入的一些高中:

  • 庫姆女子學校

  • 庫姆男校

  • 霍利菲爾德學校

  • 金士頓學院

  • 金斯頓文法學校

  • 瑪麗蒙特國際學校

  • 奧爾良公園學校

  • 瑟比頓高中

  • 泰丁頓學校

  • 蒂芬女子學校

  • 格雷法院學校

社區鏈接

聖約翰學校與當地教會有密切的聯繫:聖約翰諸聖和金斯敦衛理公會。教會牧師定期參加並領導集會,我們會參加聖約翰教堂的重要慶祝活動,例如諸聖節、豐收節和聖灰星期三。

這些教會的成員是我們治理機構的重要組成部分。

包容與平等

在聖約翰學院,我們致力於確保所有接受學校服務的學生、教職員工、家長和照顧者享有平等的教育和機會,無論種族、性別、殘疾、信仰或宗教或社會經濟背景如何。我們的目標是發展一種包容和多元化的文化,讓所有與學校有關的人都為自己的身份感到自豪,並能夠充分參與學校生活。

保障

聖約翰醫院每個孩子和工作人員的安全和福祉對我們來說至關重要。我們致力於保護和促進兒童(離線和在線)的福利,並根據新的政府文件“2020 年 9 月確保兒童在教育中的安全”來分享這一承諾。所有員工努力維護一個環境兒童感到安全和有保障,課程旨在確保兒童有機會發展他們所需的技能。孩子們知道,如果他們擔心,他們可以聯繫學校裡的任何成年人,並且他們會得到一致的支持回應。

 

道路安全教育

作為我們與地方當局共同製定的學校旅行計劃的一部分,鼓勵兒童步行或騎自行車上學。學校提供自行車庇護所和滑板車架,用於在上學期間留下自行車和滑板車。在春季/夏季學期,地方當局為 5 年級的兒童提供“自行車能力”培訓。要求家長不要使用學校停車場 - 謝謝

俱樂部

聖約翰有許多課後俱樂部,包括:BMM 體育(足球和曲棍球)、國際象棋、戲劇、西班牙語、跳繩、無板籃球、園藝、合唱團、樂高、舞蹈、體操、空手道、藝術、縫紉和手工藝、早期數學、和五月柱/鄉村舞蹈。

  

St John's Virtual Tour

St John's Virtual Tour

播放影片

SIAMS April 2019

There is excellent involvement of pupils in school life, who know their voice is important and listened to, and consequently are developing as confident and resilient young people.

Our Primary School

Welcome

I am proud to lead a team that is committed to achieving high standards and providing the very best opportunities for our pupils. Staff, supported by governors, work hard to deliver a rich and challenging curriculum to prepare children for future education and to help them acquire skills and enthusiasm needed to pursue learning for the rest of their lives.

The best way to find out about our school is to come and visit, to see us in action and meet the staff and children. A telephone call to the school office on 0208 546 7179 is all that is needed to arrange this.

 

I look forward to welcoming you to our school and to a happy and successful partnership with all our new children and families. 

 

Headteacher: Mrs Lulu Esua

ST_J_STILLS - 5.jpg

There is excellent involvement of pupils in school life, who know their voice is important and listened to, and consequently are developing as confident and resilient young people.

SIAMS, April 2019

This is a high-achieving school where pupils develop positive attitudes to their learning.

OFSTED, June 2018

Our Curriculum

At St John's school we follow a thematic approach to the curriculum. We can see the benefits for all children in making connections between different areas of learning. You can read all about our subjects and curriculum here.

We also are privileged to have very good curriculum links with Kingston University, where we use their science labs; The Rose Theatre, Stanley Picker Gallery, Museum and Library, Kingston College and the TA Centre.

Our Results

At St John’s our pupils are successful learners and live out our school vision; ‘that our children are happy, successful learners who enjoy learning, make progress and achieve their full potential’.  We want everyone is our school to flourish and to know ‘life in all its fullness’ (John 10:10).

 

Our Pupils’ achieve the expected combined standard in English, Writing and Mathematics and over the past the 3 years at the end of KS2, they have been consistently above 80%. This exceeds the National Average Standard (65%), and Kington Local Authority average standard.  

 

Our pupils also consistently exceed the national standard for pupils achieving the highest grades.  Our end of KS1 data has been consistently higher than the national average for the past 3 years. Phonics Screening test results have been in line with or greater than the national average for the past 3 years. Early years Good Level of Development results have been higher than national standard for the past 3 years.

 

*Due to the Pandemic, there are no recorded data for 2019-2020, and 2020-2021 academic years.

Home Learning 

In line with Government guidance St John's has contingency plans for blended and remote learning, should our pupils need to access this due to having to self-isolate. You can read about the ways we communicate this to our year groups here, as well as find links to useful sites the children use in school.

The Whole Child

At St John's we believe in creating well rounded, informed and globally aware attitudes in our children. In addition to our varied curriculum, we have developed activities for the children to explore themselves and the world around, enabling them to start to make informed decisions about their place in the world.There are opportunities to explore faith and what it means to be a Christian. We are an Eco School and the whole school body is involved and takes part in the children's environmental initiatives. We continue to provide awareness of healthy eating and grow food in our allotment and greenhouse. We promote what it is to be British and discover what it now means to be a global citizen. We ensure the children are aware of their human rights and have just received our Bronze Level of Commitment from UNICEF, and there are opportunities for children to sit on The School Council and make decisions that influence the entire school.

OWL & Forest School

We have created a unique outdoor learning environment used by all the children. We have a large wooded area, with access to the Hogsmill River, a growing garden with a large greenhouse where the children learn about growing food from seed and caring for it over the year before tasting and trying new foods. Creating a safe space, which we call OWL (Outdoor Wilderness Learning), we have developed an educational approach that gives young people increased contact with, and knowledge of, the natural world, and a powerful process that enables the holistic personal development of young people. All of our children benefit from the use of this space, especially those with additional needs. You can follow our work here. Our Forest School was awarded Forest School of the Year 2020.

Our Eco School & Healthy Eating Awards

We are an accredited Eco School and our Eco Mission is: Through our learning, we believe in caring for, protecting and sharing our environment with plants, animals and each other. We actively encourage recycling, reusing and limiting use of energy and resources.

We have National Healthy School Status, the Green Flag Eco Award and were Green Guardian winners. We are committed to promoting and monitoring healthy food at break and lunch times. Different teaching styles and learning opportunities are offered to pupils to develop their awareness and understanding of healthier eating and basic food safety practices, including opportunities to grow and cook vegetables.

Sports

We work with a wide range of sports specialists within the school. This academic year we have an excellent dance coach working with year groups. This coach runs the dance training sessions for Kingston and other boroughs, as well as being a dance coach who has prepared the celebrities for Strictly Come Dancing!

Secondary School Destinations

These are some of the high schools our pupils transitioned onto in the past 2 years:

  • Coombe Girls’ School

  • Coombe Boys’ School

  • Hollyfield School

  • KingstonAcademy

  • Kingston Grammar School

  • Marymount International School

  • Orleans Park School

  • Surbiton High School

  • Teddington School

  • Tiffin Girls’ School

  • Grey Court School

Community Links

St John's school has strong links with the local churches of: St John's, All Saints and Kingston Methodist Church. Church ministers regularly attend and lead assemblies and we attend St John's Church for important celebrations such as All Saints Day, Harvest Festival and Ash Wednesday.

Members of these churches form an important part of our Governing Body.

Inclusion and Equality

At St John’s we are committed to ensuring equality of education and opportunity for all pupils, staff, parents and carers receiving services from the school, irrespective of race, gender, disability, faith or religion or socio-economic background. We aim to develop a culture of inclusion and diversity in which all those connected to the school feel proud of their identity and able to participate fully in school life.

Safeguarding

The safety and well-being of every child and member of staff at St John’s is of paramount importance to us. We are committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children (both off-line and on-line) and share this commitment in line with the new government document, Keeping Children Safe in Education September 2020. All staff work hard to maintain an environment where children feel safe and secure and the curriculum is designed to ensure opportunities for children to develop the skills they need. Children know that they can approach any of the adults in school if they are worried and that they will receive a consistent supportive response.

 

Road Safety Education

As part of our School Travel Plan, developed in conjunction with the Local Authority, children are encouraged to walk or cycle to school. Cycle shelters and a scooter racks are available at school for bicycles and scooters to be left during the school day. During the spring/summer term, Year 5 children are offered ‘Bikeability’ training run by the local authority. Parents are asked not to use the school car park - thank you

Clubs

There are many after school clubs at St John’s including: BMM Sports (Football & Hockey), Chess, Drama, Spanish, Skipping, Netball, Gardening, Choir, Lego, Dance, Gymnastics, Karate, Art, Sewing & Crafts, Early Maths, and Maypole/Country Dancing.